This self help document offers tips for holding virtual office hours with Zoom across multiple courses.


While it is possible to schedule office hours inside a Canvas course, that Zoom meeting is good for that ONLY that one course. Students in other courses won't be able to access you during that time.  

In order to set up office hours for all your courses simultaneously, we recommend that you schedule these directly in Zoom. The instructions below provide guidance for this.

Setting up a Zoom Meeting Outside of Canvas

  1. Go to Geneseo.zoom.us and click Sign-in near the bottom of the page.
  2. Enter your Geneseo Username and Password.
  3. Click the red Schedule a New Meeting button near the top left. Screenshot highlighting Schedule a Meeting in Zoom
  4. List Office Hours or another clear, descriptive title in the box next to Topic. (You may also want to include a description, but it is not necessary.)
  5. Choose when to start office hours and the duration of the office hours on a given day. (it is not possible to create split hours during the same day in the same meeting).
  6. Check the box next to Recurring Meeting.
  7. Select Daily from the Recurrence dropdown menu.
  8. Choose the option No Fixed TimeScreenshot of Zoom admin page featuring Recurrence dropdown with Daily selected
  9. It will take away the date and time options and look like this: 
  10. Choose other settings as you desire, but be sure to check the box next to Enable waiting room. (This is crucial to keep students from crashing other students' conversations.) It’s recommended you check the box next to Only authenticated users can join. That way only Geneseo students can access your meeting.
  11. Click the red Save button at the bottom.
  12. Copy the Join URL for use in your syllabus, Canvas information pages, and Canvas Announcements as needed.

Holding Zoom Office Hours

  1. Go to Geneseo.zoom.us and click Sign-in near the bottom of the page.
  2. Click the Start button to the far right of the office hours you are about to hold.
  3. Choose which students to admit into the meeting from the waiting room by clicking the blue Admit button to the right of the student’s name on the top right. (While in the waiting room, students will see the message “Please wait, the meeting host will let you in soon.”)
  4. To remove a student before admitting another student, click the blue More button to the right of the student’s name and select Remove or Put in waiting room.
  5. When you are finished with your End Meeting at the bottom right of your tool bar. You will then have an option to end the meeting for everyone, or just for yourself.

Related articles

This section is optional. Related articles appear here based on the labels you select. You must click to edit the macro and add or change labels.


Replace owner (Area) and reviewed by with information appropriate to this article. Also set the review date to the date the page was created.

Owner (area)Educational Technology
Reviewed by
Review Date