Information about Geneseo's Central Authentication system that supports single sign-on and its Keep me logged in on this device feature.

Verify Secure Connection to Geneseo Central Authentication

Malicious links and emails will sometimes direct you to fake impersonations of our Central Authentication System that are designed to trick you to enter your Geneseo credentials. You can easily verify you are on the official Geneseo Central Authentication page by looking for the words "SUNY Geneseo" in green letters somewhere in your browser's address bar. For example:

Keep me logged in on this device

If you check the Keep me logged in on this device box on Geneseo's Central Auth login screen you should not be asked to reauthenticate in that browser for about 2 weeks.  If you are on a device you trust, CIT recommends you check this box. If you do not check the box, your Central Auth session in that browser will last for 9 hours, or until you exit your browser. These times may be lowered by certain factors including an app's logout link that sends you to the Central Auth logout URL (https://auth.geneseo.edu/logout), or individual apps forcing reauthentication.

Do not check this box if you are on a shared device.

Related articles

This section is optional. Related articles appear here based on the labels you select. You must click to edit the macro and add or change labels.


Replace owner (Area) and reviewed by with information appropriate to this article. Also set the review date to the date the page was created.

Owner (area)Systems and Identity & Access Management
Reviewed by
Review Date