With Google Drive & documents, you can easily create, share, and edit documents online.
Things that can be Accomplished with Google Drive
- Upload Microsoft Word, OpenOffice, RTF, HTML or plain text documents, create documents from scratch, and download your online ones.
- Edit documents online simultaneously with anyone you choose and invite others to view them.
- Keep track of who made changes to a document and when, and roll back to any version.
- Publish documents online to the world as webpages or post documents to your blog.
- Email your documents out as attachments.
- Access your files on the web, on your hard drive, or on the go with Google Drive.
- Google Help - Google's Getting Started Guide
- Google Help - Get started with Google Drive
Google has recently rolled out a new service called Shared Drives (formerly known as Team Drives). Shared drives are great because the files in them belong to the team, not an individual. This can alleviate a lot of problems with sharing files in Google Drive when someone's account is deleted. Anyone at Geneseo can create shared drives. CIT strongly recommends their use because:
- Members of a shared drive share ownership of any files and folders.
- If someone leaves the shared drive, any files they added will stay.
- You can still share files with a link or invite.
- Reference: Managing Shared Drives - This document has a lot of very good details about how Shared Drives work and how to use them.
- Google Help - Get Started with Shared Drives
- Google Help - Store & share files with shared drives
- Google Help - Shared drive cheat sheet
Current shared drive limitations
- You cannot move any files you do not own into a Google Drive. This can make moving a large folder of many files problematic, especially if you have a lot of different people that have contributed to it.
- TSPs can assist with migrating folders to Shared Drive. You need to share your Shared Drive and the folder you want migrated with the TSP admin account of the TSP you are working with.
- Folders cannot be shared with anyone outside of the team from within a Shared Drive. Files can be shared individually with people that are not part of your team.
- Not really a limitation, but something to be aware of; unless you give someone full rights to a Shared Drive, they cannot move files and folders around. Edit rights will not let them move files.
- 100,000 file count limit (per Shared Drive)
- Files stored in Shared Drives cannot be directly shared in Canvas.
Backup and Restores
CIT does not backup Shared Drives . CIT can restore files permanently deleted a maximum of approximately 25 days ago. Shared Drives store files in the trash for 30 days before deleting the item. In some cases you may be able to restore non-Google documents that you have synced to your computer using Google File Stream if you have setup your desktop backup program (i.e. CrashPlan) to backup your shared drive folder.
- Reference: Restore deleted files or Shared Drives
For questions, contact the CIT HelpDesk by calling (585) 245-5588, or visiting our online service desk.